top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMr. Malone

TOILET PAPER STOCKPILING - 03.16.20

Confession: I've been stockpiling toilet paper - at least a little bit. My stockpiling provides the content of our first DEEP THINKING TODAY task:

*Part A: How long will my current supply of toilet paper last?

*Part B: To what extent is my stockpiling ethical? More broadly, how can individual judge the ethics of their supply acquisition and use during a pandemic?


Let's begin!


PART A: HOW LONG WILL MY CURRENT SUPPLY OF TOILET PAPER LAST?

These two photographs represent my current TP supply. The photographs supply most of the information we'll need to make a reasonable estimate.

You may notice that Scott provides its own estimate of each roll's longevity (one roll lasts one week). As for my supply, it will need to serve two adults (me and my wife). I assume (and hope!) that we each use an average amount of toilet paper. I'm not too sure how that stacks up against Scott's assumptions - think about the information included in the asterisk. What additional information might we need to assess whether "1 roll, 1 week" is true for my case?


Share your final estimates by adding a comment to this blog! As an extension, consider creating a toilet paper estimate for your own household - or replicate the process for a different product! Post your thinking and share with the community :)


PART B: TO WHAT EXTENT IS (MY) STOCKPILING ETHICAL?

As we watch supplies fly off of supermarket shelves, I'm left wondering: how do we assess the ethics of supply acquisition and use during a pandemic?

*To what extent is my stockpiling of TP appropriate? Excessive? Ethical? What makes you say so?

*To what extent should an individual stockpile supplies? For themselves? For their family? Does the type of supply make a difference? What else might make a difference?

*What recommendations would you make for ethical decision-making when it comes to supply acquisition and use during a pandemic?

You can find lots of articles to inform and enrich your thinking; here are two to get started:


Post your thinking and share with the community :)


451 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page